Fayette village council 2014.01.22

David Borer was chosen to serve as Fayette's council president for another year during an organizational meeting last week. 

The village council's newest member, Linda Short, was sworn into office along with incumbents Rodney Kessler, Scott Wagner and Mat Johnson who were reëlected in November. Short was appointed to fill a seat left vacant when Julia Ruger chose not to seek another term.

Council voted to continue meeting at 6 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of the month. Committee of the whole meetings are scheduled on the second Wednesday.

The following committee assignments were made for 2014.

Finance—Scott Wagner, David Borer and David Wheeler.

Public Safety—Rodney Kessler, Scott Wagner and David Wheeler.

Governmental Affairs—Mat Johnson, Rodney Kessler and Linda Short.

Public Works—David Borer, Linda Short and Mat Johnson.

TREES—Johnson was appointed to serve as council's representative to the Fayette Tree Commission. A new member will be needed because Lowell Beaverson will not seek another term on the commission.

THANKS—Mayor Ruth Marlatt spoke with Ohio senator Sherrod Brown when he was in the Fayette area recently and she thanked him for his role in securing federal funding for Fayette's sewer project. Fayette residents will pay only about 25 percent of the project costs.

The mayor's annual State of the Village address appears inside this week's Observer.